top of page



The CAMERATA RHEIN was founded in 2018 in Basel by 3 musicians:

DMITRY SMIRNOV, violin, viola




Its members met at the Musik-Akademie Basel and are internationally active as soloists and chamber musicians. 


Inspired by the vibrant cultural environment in the city of Basel, the Ensemble proposes different styles of musical repertoire, from classical to modern pieces, and from experimental to film music. 

The group has won several prizes at the Orpheus Wettbewerb 2020.

The violinist  DMITRY SMIRNOV, born in 1994 in Saint Petersbourg, studied with Pavel Vernikov and Rainer Schmidt. He was awarded i.a. at the international competitions Tibor Varga in Sion (1st prize), Yehudi Menuhin in Cardiff and Long-Thibaud-Crespin in Paris. As a soloist he played with many orchestras in Europe and with all the famous Philharmonic State Orchestras in Russia. He works with artists such as Heinz Holliger, Sol Gabetta, Giovanni Antonini. He was "Jeune Etoile" at the Gstaad Menuhin Festival 2019 and has debut appearances at the LucerneFestival and LuganoMusica in 2021.


The clarinettist JOSÉ LUIS INGLÉS, born in 1994 in Cartagena, Spain, graduated under the guidance of Josep Fuster at the Escola Superior de Musica de Catalunya (ESMUC) in Barcelona. At present he studies with François Benda in Basel. He was part of many youth and professional orchestras in Barcelona, Zurich and Basel. José won several international competitions like the Villa Molina Young Artist Competition (2016) and The North International Competition, Stockholm (2018). 


The pianist DENIS LINNIK born in 1995 in Maryina Gorka, Belarus. He studied in Minsk with Vladimir Nekhaenko and is currently a student of Claudio Martinez-Mehner in Basel.

He won 1st prize and Public Award at the "Piano and Orchestra" competition in Cantù as well as other awards at the Horowitz competition in Kiev, the Delphic Games in St. Petersburg and at the Chamber Music Competition in Kiev. He performed in Belarus, Ukraine, France, Holland, Finland, Italy, Switzerland and in the USA.

  • Белый Иконка YouTube
  • Белый Facebook Icon


Program 1

The following program displays a kaleidoscope of virtuosity, contrasts, number of different folk traditions of Eastern Europe (Krenek) and Klezmer tunes (Widmann). It is blended together with two composers that were very much connected with Switzerland (Stravinsky) and especially with Gstaad Festival and its audience (Bartok).


Jörg Widmann (1973*) “Tränen der Musen” for clarinet, violin and piano (2016)

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) “Histoire du Soldat” for violin, clarinet and piano (1918) 

Ernst Krenek (1900-1991) Trio for violin, clarinet and piano op.108

Bela Bartok (1881-1945) “Contrasts” for clarinet, violin and piano (1938)



Program 2

This program is rather popular and fluent. It combines Armenian folk traditions with the great American composer Bernstein who was very familiar with Khachaturyan’s music and even gave the U.S première of Khachaturyan’s 2nd Symphony.


Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990) Sonata for violin and piano

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990) Sonata for clarinet and piano

Aram Khachaturyan (1903-1978) Trio for violin, clarinet and piano (1932)



Program 3

Trios through 3 centuries


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1792) Trio for clarinet, viola and piano KV 498 “Kegelstatt”

Max Bruch (1838-1920) 8 Pieces for clarinet, viola and piano op.83

Robert Schumann (1810-1856) Trio for clarinet, viola and piano op.132 “Märchenerzählungen”

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) “Histoire du Soldat” for violin, clarinet and piano (1918)



Program 4

The different colors of the 20th century


Ernst Krenek (1900-1991) Trio for clarinet piano and violin, op 108   

Raphael Staubli (1959*)  Trio  for clarinet, violin and piano (1987)

Arthur Honegger (1892-1955) Petite Suite for two melodic instruments ad libitum and piano, H. 89  (1934)  

Alban Berg (1885-1935) Adagio for Violin, Clarinet and Piano (Transcription of Kammerkonzert, 1926)

Darius Milhaud (1892-1974) Suite for Clarinet, Violin and Piano op.157b 



Program 5

“Opera” at the time of First World War


L’Histoire du Soldat (Stravinsky): Original version with 7 musicians, speaker, dancer (1918) 

bottom of page